More Dung!

A Beetle Tale

Look inside
Hardcover
$18.99 US
9.3"W x 11.25"H x 0.42"D   | 16 oz | 24 per carton
On sale May 14, 2024 | 48 Pages | 9781368100083
Age 3-5 years
For fans of Jon Klassen and Peter Brown comes MORE DUNG!, a slyly funny and stunningly illustrated picture book about a greedy dung beetle by debut author-illustrator Frank Weber.

The dung beetle thinks he has everything he needs: the warmth of the sun, a gurgling river, and as much dung as he could ever want. But when a leopard tells him of a farm with even MORE dung, the beetle’s world suddenly looks small. And so he sets off to the farm, accruing more and more dung, building a veritable DUNG EMPIRE! But a tower of dung comes with a tower of risk, and soon our insect hero finds himself buried in his greed. (Yes, he’s buried in poop.)

Frank Weber seamlessly blends philosophical questions about greed with scatological humor and truly gorgeous artwork to create this special debut.
Frank Weber is an animator and director who specializes in design and animation. He's based in London but originally hails from South Africa, which inspires his work. More examples of his art can be found on newmonday.tv.
additional book photo
additional book photo
additional book photo
★ "A sure storytime hit." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A visually comic picture book debut . . . about the power of appreciation—and poo." —Publishers Weekly

"The combination of absurd humor and clever social commentary gives the book broad appeal, making it an easy choice for a giggly storytime or a discussion on what and how we decide to commodify things." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About

For fans of Jon Klassen and Peter Brown comes MORE DUNG!, a slyly funny and stunningly illustrated picture book about a greedy dung beetle by debut author-illustrator Frank Weber.

The dung beetle thinks he has everything he needs: the warmth of the sun, a gurgling river, and as much dung as he could ever want. But when a leopard tells him of a farm with even MORE dung, the beetle’s world suddenly looks small. And so he sets off to the farm, accruing more and more dung, building a veritable DUNG EMPIRE! But a tower of dung comes with a tower of risk, and soon our insect hero finds himself buried in his greed. (Yes, he’s buried in poop.)

Frank Weber seamlessly blends philosophical questions about greed with scatological humor and truly gorgeous artwork to create this special debut.

Creators

Frank Weber is an animator and director who specializes in design and animation. He's based in London but originally hails from South Africa, which inspires his work. More examples of his art can be found on newmonday.tv.

Photos

additional book photo
additional book photo
additional book photo

Praise

★ "A sure storytime hit." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A visually comic picture book debut . . . about the power of appreciation—and poo." —Publishers Weekly

"The combination of absurd humor and clever social commentary gives the book broad appeal, making it an easy choice for a giggly storytime or a discussion on what and how we decide to commodify things." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books