Megabat Is a Fraidybat

Part of Megabat

Illustrated by Kass Reich
Look inside
Paperback
$9.99 US
5.5"W x 7.25"H x 0.49"D   | 5 oz | 24 per carton
On sale Mar 02, 2021 | 192 Pages | 978-0-7352-6805-0
Age 7-10 years
Reading Level: Lexile 660L
Megabat and his best friend, Daniel, go to sleepaway camp for the first time. Another hilarious chapter book in this laugh-out-loud series for fans of Dory Fantasmagory and Narwhal and Jelly.

Daniel is not so sure about going to camp. There will be bugs. And uncomfortable beds. And leeches!

Megabat can't WAIT to go to camp! There will be so much smooshfruit, and he loves a good sing-along.

Daniel starts to think camp isn't so bad. He's made friends, and his bed isn't THAT uncomfortable.

Megabat has made a new friend too. But his new friend wants him to go flying to spooky caves. And her mom is very toothy.

As Daniel is getting into the swing of things and starting to enjoy camp, Megabat is getting himself into one tangle after another to avoid going into the scary woods. But can Megabat overcome his fears to help save his new friend? Kass Reich's adorable illustrations paired with Anna Humphrey's hilarious text make for another unforgettable Megabat adventure, one that will appeal to Megabat fans and newcomers!
© Christine Saunders
ANNA HUMPHREY has worked as a marketing person for a poetry organization, in communications for the Girl Guides of Canada, as an editor for a web-zine, an intern at a decorating magazine and for the government. None of those was quite right, so she started her own freelance writing and editing business on top of writing for kids and teens. She has been published by Disney Hyperion, Simon & Schuster, HarperTeen and Owlkids. She lives in a big, old brick house in Kitchener, Ontario. View titles by Anna Humphrey
© Stephanie Coffey
KASS REICH works as an artist and educator and has spent the majority of the last decade travelling around the world. She earned a degree in Art Education from Concordia University and was an early childhood educator in Beijing, which inspired her to start making picture books for very young readers. Kass loves illustrating books for all ages, including the Megabat series, Sergeant Billy, Carson Crosses Canada and Hamsters Holding Hands. She now lives and works in Toronto, Ontario. View titles by Kass Reich
Amazon’s Best Book of the Month for April in the ages 6-8 category
Starred Selection for the 2020 CCBC Best Books for Kids and Teens Fall Issue

PRAISE FOR Megabat Is a Fraidybat:

“Young readers will be delighted by how Megabat resolves his dilemma in this sidesplitting adventure.” —Globe and Mail

About

Megabat and his best friend, Daniel, go to sleepaway camp for the first time. Another hilarious chapter book in this laugh-out-loud series for fans of Dory Fantasmagory and Narwhal and Jelly.

Daniel is not so sure about going to camp. There will be bugs. And uncomfortable beds. And leeches!

Megabat can't WAIT to go to camp! There will be so much smooshfruit, and he loves a good sing-along.

Daniel starts to think camp isn't so bad. He's made friends, and his bed isn't THAT uncomfortable.

Megabat has made a new friend too. But his new friend wants him to go flying to spooky caves. And her mom is very toothy.

As Daniel is getting into the swing of things and starting to enjoy camp, Megabat is getting himself into one tangle after another to avoid going into the scary woods. But can Megabat overcome his fears to help save his new friend? Kass Reich's adorable illustrations paired with Anna Humphrey's hilarious text make for another unforgettable Megabat adventure, one that will appeal to Megabat fans and newcomers!

Creators

© Christine Saunders
ANNA HUMPHREY has worked as a marketing person for a poetry organization, in communications for the Girl Guides of Canada, as an editor for a web-zine, an intern at a decorating magazine and for the government. None of those was quite right, so she started her own freelance writing and editing business on top of writing for kids and teens. She has been published by Disney Hyperion, Simon & Schuster, HarperTeen and Owlkids. She lives in a big, old brick house in Kitchener, Ontario. View titles by Anna Humphrey
© Stephanie Coffey
KASS REICH works as an artist and educator and has spent the majority of the last decade travelling around the world. She earned a degree in Art Education from Concordia University and was an early childhood educator in Beijing, which inspired her to start making picture books for very young readers. Kass loves illustrating books for all ages, including the Megabat series, Sergeant Billy, Carson Crosses Canada and Hamsters Holding Hands. She now lives and works in Toronto, Ontario. View titles by Kass Reich

Praise

Amazon’s Best Book of the Month for April in the ages 6-8 category
Starred Selection for the 2020 CCBC Best Books for Kids and Teens Fall Issue

PRAISE FOR Megabat Is a Fraidybat:

“Young readers will be delighted by how Megabat resolves his dilemma in this sidesplitting adventure.” —Globe and Mail