Free Comic Book Day Is Around the Corner!

By Kat La Mantia | May 2 2022 | GeneralComicsGraphic NovelsChildren's

Free Comic Book Day is coming to a store near you this Saturday, May 7! This weekend, get to your local comic shop for some free goodies and comradery. Not sure where to go? Check out FCBD’s website for their comic shop locator and a full list of free comics available this year, complete with age-rated categories.

FCBD is a great event for comics lovers of all ages, but especially children. While you’re paying your local comic shop a visit, be sure to grab these great kid-friendly titles!

PAWS: Gabby Gets It Together
978-0-593-35186-4
Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then don’t miss PAWS, a new graphic novel series about best friends, cute dogs, and all the fun (and trouble) that comes with them. Perfect for fans of Real Friends, Roller Girl, and Allergic, this funny and heartwarming series is the Baby-Sitters Club for pets!
$12.99 US
Mar 08, 2022
Paperback
176 Pages
Razorbill
Age 8-12 years

Sonic the Hedgehog, Vol. 1: Fallout!
978-1-68405-327-8
Join the Blue Blur for brand-new adventures as he and his friends race around the world to defeat the evil Dr. Eggman's robotic forces!
$15.99 US
Sep 18, 2018
Paperback
104 Pages
IDW Publishing
Age 9-12 years

Carlton Crumple Creature Catcher 1: Catch the Munchies!
978-1-64595-001-1
Fast food, monsters, and super funny, madcap adventure combine in this graphic novel series starter as Carlton Crumple sets out to stop the Munchie monsters from taking over every Chubbzy Cheeseburger in America! Fans of series like Lunch Lady and Dog Man will gobble this down.
$12.99 US
Aug 04, 2020
Hardcover
128 Pages
Pixel+Ink
Age 8-12 years

Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth
978-0-385-38617-3
Calvin and Hobbes meets Big Nate in this funny middle grade graphic novel series, perfect for fans of Bone and comic books as well as laugh-out-loud school adventures like Jedi Academy and Wimpy Kid.
$13.99 US
Sep 01, 2015
Hardcover
208 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 8-12 years

Ham Helsing #1: Vampire Hunter
978-0-593-30891-2
The monster hunt is on! A rip-roaring graphic novel adventure about the latest in a famous family of vampire-hunting pigs, inspired by legendary monster slayer Van Helsing!
$12.99 US
Jun 01, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years

Marvel Black Panther Wakanda Forever!
978-0-7440-3712-8
Learn to read with Marvel's Black Panther!
$4.99 US
Jan 12, 2021
Paperback
48 Pages
DK Children
Age 5-7 years

Minecraft Volume 1 (Graphic Novel)
978-1-5067-0834-8
The first Graphic Novel in the world of Gaming Phenomenon Minecraft!
$10.99 US
Jun 04, 2019
Paperback
88 Pages
Dark Horse Books
Age 8-12 years

Amethyst: Princess of Gemworld
978-1-77950-122-6
Shannon Hale and Dean Hale, the New York Times bestselling creators of Diana: Princess of the Amazons, team with artist Asiah Fulmore to explore Gemworld! 
$9.99 US
Nov 09, 2021
Paperback
160 Pages
DC Comics
Age 8-12 years

Monster Friends
(A Graphic Novel)
978-1-9848-9682-7
Two friends: one big, one little. One old, one young. One grumpy, one cheerful. Both: MONSTERS! From the author of Crabapple Trouble comes a sweet and fun-filled chapter-book graphic novel, with a charming cast of adorable monsters.
$12.99 US
Jun 22, 2021
Hardcover
272 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 4-8 years

Witches of Brooklyn
(A Graphic Novel)
978-0-593-11927-3
There's a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family. A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends.
$12.99 US
Sep 01, 2020
Paperback
240 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 8-12 years

The Batman & Scooby-Doo Mysteries Vol. 1
978-1-77951-307-6
The Dark Knight teams up with Scooby-Doo and the sleuths of Mystery Inc. in a series of adventures and mysteries! 
$12.99 US
Nov 30, 2021
Paperback
128 Pages
DC Comics
Age 8-12 years

The Science of Surfing: A Surfside Girls Guide to the Ocean
978-1-60309-494-8
Watch Surfside Girls from Apple TV+!From biology to physics to ecology and beyond, the ocean is packed with science! Ride the waves of knowledge with Sam and Jade as they discover the amazing wonders of the sea, and have a blast doing it.
$9.99 US
Dec 14, 2021
Paperback
112 Pages
Top Shelf Productions
Age 9-12 years