2021 Best Graphic Novels for Children Reading List

By Steph Hocutt | January 28 2022 | Children's

The ALA Graphic Novels & Comics Round Table has shared the 2021 Best Graphic Novels for Children Reading List, and we’re thrilled to see several PRH titles on the list!

As stated by the GNCRT:

This reading list highlights the best graphic novels for children aged 5 – 12 years old, published in late 2020 and through 2021, and it aims to increase awareness of the graphic novel medium, raise voices of diverse comics creators, and aid library staff in the development of graphic novel collections.

Don’t miss out on these fantastic kids titles!

Just Roll with It
(A Graphic Novel)
978-0-593-12541-0
Starting middle school is hard enough when you don't know anyone; it's even harder when you're shy. A contemporary middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Guts and Real Friends about how dealing with anxiety and OCD can affect everyday life.
$20.99 US
On sale Dec 14, 2021
FOC Sep 06, 2021
Hardcover
336 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 8-12 years

The Magic Fish
(A Graphic Novel)
978-1-9848-5159-8
In this gorgeous graphic novel that Entertainment Weekly called "one of the most astounding . . . of the year," fairy tales are the only way one teen boy can express himself to his parents, who are Vietnamese immigrants. But how will he find the words to tell them that he's gay?
$17.99 US
On sale Oct 13, 2020
Paperback
256 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 12 and up

Salt Magic
978-0-8234-4620-9
The epic, Eisner Award-winning graphic novel about a jealous witch, a withering curse, and one girl's journey to save her family-- no matter the cost.
$21.99 US
On sale Oct 12, 2021
FOC Sep 13, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Margaret Ferguson Books
Age 10-14 years

Witches of Brooklyn
(A Graphic Novel)
978-0-593-11927-3
There's a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family. A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends.
$13.99 US
On sale Sep 01, 2020
Paperback
240 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 8-12 years