Staff Picks for September 2021

By Steph Hocutt | September 1 2021 | Graphic NovelsMangaChildren'sYoung Adult

The last days of summer are fading and fall is right around the corner, which means that cozy reading time is almost upon us! Grab that throw blanket, get comfy, and check out the following picks from the Comics Retail team!


Matthew’s Picks

Fourth World by Jack Kirby Omnibus

Long live the King! I’m incredibly excited for one of the most influential runs in comics history to be collected again in this stunning omnibus To own this collection of Jack “King” Kirby’s Fourth World Saga is a must-have and I’ve already made room on my shelf for this.

 

Batman Black & White

All-star creators? Check! Batman? Check! Amazing noir short stories? Check! All the boxes for a great read accounted for with this collection featuring a lot of talent working on the Dark Knight for the very first time!

 

Max Meow Book 3: Pugs from Planet X

Max Meow returns! This series has been a hit with the little ones in my family and I’m excited for another offering here. It’s an incredible title for young readers. Plus, I’m a cat guy…

 

My Isekai Life 01: I Gained a Second Character Class and Became the Strongest Sage in the World!

I’m newer to manga and looking for a fun fantasy read to jump into. This absolutely is going to fit the bill. I think this will be a tremendous asset to bring new readers in!

 

Amazing Spider-Man Epic Collection: The Death of Captain Stacy TPB

Iconic. This collection gives the full scope of storytelling involved in one of the most influential tales in Spider-Man’s history. Full of classic moments that have stood the test of time, this epic collection lives up to its moniker.

 

Beta Ray Bill: Argent Star TPB

I’m a massive Daniel Warren Johnson fan and seeing him tackle the cosmic side of the Marvel Universe is a treat. His expansive layouts give an amazing scope to the trials of everyone’s favorite Korbinite.

 

Star Wars: Darth Vader HC

The Darth Vader series penned by Charles Soule was what got me reading Star Wars comics. For more kickass adventures featuring the greatest big bad in a galaxy far, far away this is an amazing omnibus. Plus, the debut of the best new Star Wars character in decades: Dr. Aphra!


Nico’s Picks

The Masterful Cat Is Depressed Again Today Vol. 1

A cat that’s amazing at cooking, cleaning, and adulting? I’m jealous! I love a good slice of life manga and this sounds like the perfect one to relax with!

 

Teen Titans: Beast Boy Loves Raven

This features one of my favorite DC pairings so sign me up! Also if you’re not following artist Gabriel Picolo on Instagram, do it now! You’ll fall in love with all of his Teen Titans art with them hanging out and having fun!

 


Steph’s Picks

Life of Melody

Odd couple, found family stories always get me. Watching Razzmatazz and Bon figure out how to raise a human baby, navigate the human world, and slowly fall in love is exactly what my tender heart needed!

 

Unearthed: A Jessica Cruz Story

DC’s YA graphic novels have given us a chance to get more personal stories from our favorite heroes, and I’m so happy to see the spotlight on Jessica Cruz! A powerful story with beautiful artwork.

 

Star-Crossed!! Vol. 3

This series is pure shoujo goodness! A pop idol and his biggest fan keep accidentally switching bodies, leading to all sorts of hilarious mix-ups as they try to play it cool and not let anyone know their secret. It goes as well as you’d expect!

 

Witch Hat Atelier Vol. 8

An eternal must-read recommendation for any Studio Ghibli fan. This stunningly drawn manga creates such a lush, magical world, and

I’m always eager to get my hands on the next volume.

 

The Masterful Cat Is Depressed Again Today Vol. 1

My bookshelf is quickly filling up with cat manga, and I’m all here for it. I’m allergic to cats, but I’d absolutely let Yukichi be my roommate.

 

 

 


 

Fourth World by Jack Kirby Omnibus (New Printing)
978-1-77951-261-1
These are the legendary tales written and illustrated by Jack "King" Kirby that introduced mythical new worlds and iconic characters with sweeping excitement! 
$150.00 US
Sep 14, 2021
Hardcover
1536 Pages
DC Comics

Batman Black & White
978-1-77951-196-6
The world is simple. There's good. There's evil. And there's still...BATMAN BLACK & WHITE! This Eisner Award-winning anthology series returns with all-new tales of mystery, mayhem, and madness from some of the finest and most innovative storytellers to explore the Batman mythos in stark black and white!
$49.99 US
Sep 14, 2021
Hardcover
312 Pages
DC Comics

Max Meow Book 3: Pugs from Planet X
978-0-593-12111-5
Max Meow is BACK and up against PUG invaders from OUTER SPACE! This PAWS-itively hilarious graphic novel with CAT-ITUDE is PURR-fect for anyone who likes to LAUGH--and for fans of Dog Man, Bad Guys, and Hilo!
$12.99 US
Oct 12, 2021
Hardcover
240 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 7-10 years

My Isekai Life 01
I Gained a Second Character Class and Became the Strongest Sage in the World!
978-1-64609-097-6
In this manga adaptation of the popular web novel series, an overworked wage slave finds himself transported to a fantasy world where he quickly becomes the strongest sage in the world...thanks to the help of an army of tamed slimes!
$10.99 US
Jan 04, 2022
Paperback
192 Pages
Square Enix Manga
Age 13 and up

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN EPIC COLLECTION: THE DEATH OF CAPTAIN STACY TPB
9781302929084
Spider-Man sagas don’t get more dramatic than the Death of Captain Stacy! And Peter Parker’s life is about to change forever after Gwen Stacy’s heroic father becomes collateral damage in a throwdown between Spider-Man and Doc Ock. But that’s not the only iconic moment in Spidey’s life chronicled in this amazing Epic Collection: The Black Widow makes her debut in her classic black costume, Iceman shows up to give Spidey the cold shoulder and the first appearance of Morbius the Living Vampire portends death for Peter Parker! Meanwhile, Norman Osborn descends into the private hell of drug addiction as the demonic shadow of the Green Goblin looms over the proceedings. Plus: You haven’t seen Spidey until you’ve seen him with six arms! Collecting AMAZING SPIDER-MAN (1963) #86-104.
$39.99 US
Oct 19, 2021
Paperback
440 Pages
Marvel Universe

BETA RAY BILL: ARGENT STAR TPB
9781302928124
The second-most famous wielder of Mjolnir! Beta Ray Bill is tired of life in Thor’s shadow — and with Bill’s own mighty hammer, Stormbreaker, recently destroyed at the thunder god’s hands, Bill finds himself at a crossroads. The Korbinite must strike out in search of his destiny — assuming he can first defeat a Knullified Fin Fang Foom! Bill begins a hunt for Odin in hopes of resurrecting his golden weapon — but Stormbreaker is never coming back. Nonetheless, there is one place where Beta Ray Bill could restore his full powers. The All-Father of Nothing offers the Korbinite a path to immortality — but at a price not even a god can afford! Who will join Bill on a dangerous and deadly cosmic quest? Collecting BETA RAY BILL #1-5.
$15.99 US
Dec 07, 2021
Paperback
128 Pages
Marvel Universe

The Masterful Cat Is Depressed Again Today Vol. 1
978-1-64827-605-7
A sweetly comedic manga about a cat who cooks, cleans, and succeeds at adulting more than the woman who expected him to be a pet!
$13.99 US
Sep 28, 2021
Paperback
180 Pages
Seven Seas

Teen Titans: Beast Boy Loves Raven
978-1-77950-386-2
From #1 New York Times bestselling author KAMI GARCIA (Beautiful Creatures) and artist GABRIEL PICOLO, the creative duo behind the New York Times bestselling graphic novel Teen Titans: Raven, comes the romantic meetup we have all been waiting for!
$16.99 US
Sep 28, 2021
Paperback
208 Pages
DC Comics
Age 13-17 years

Life of Melody
978-1-64827-649-1
In this charming and full-color LGBT+ graphic novel first released as a webcomic, a fairy godfather and a beast man raise a human baby together.
$15.99 US
Sep 28, 2021
Paperback
180 Pages
Seven Seas
Age 12-14 years

Unearthed: A Jessica Cruz Story
978-1-77950-051-9
Acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera and artist Steph C. reimagine one of DC's greatest Green Lanterns, Jessica Cruz, to tell a story about immigration, family, and overcoming fear to inspire hope.
$16.99 US
Sep 14, 2021
Paperback
208 Pages
DC Comics
Age 13 and up

Star-Crossed!! 3
978-1-64651-215-7
From the creator of the hit manga and anime Kiss Him, Not Me! comes another off-the-wall, geeky shojo comedy! A series of mixups leads to God misplacing the souls of a girl and the handsome idol singer she adores--in each other's bodies! And they can switch back and forth by...kissing?!
$12.99 US
Sep 21, 2021
Paperback
176 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Witch Hat Atelier 8
978-1-64651-269-0
A beautifully-illustrated story about a girl who longs for magic in her life and learns that, on the inside, she already is what she wishes she could be. Reminiscent of Studio Ghibli, this lushly-drawn story was voted one of the top 10 manga of the year in 2018 by the Japanese manga industry.
$12.99 US
Sep 28, 2021
Paperback
160 Pages
Kodansha Comics