Must-Read Manga from Kodansha

By Steph Hocutt | July 19 2021 | Manga

From magical girls to monstrous titans, Kodansha has every type of story imaginable. Check out powerful award-winning series like A Silent Voice and Blue Period. Get your heart pounding with action-packed adventures like Attack on Titan and Shaman King, or make your heart flutter with romances like The Summer of You and Rent-A-Girlfriend. And of course, everyone could use a good laugh—Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku and Nichijou are perfect to lift your mood.

You’ll find some top recommendations below, and you can check out the full list of 2021 Kodansha manga here!

Attack on Titan 1
978-1-61262-024-4
Attack on Titan is a breakout hit in Japan, where is has sold over five million copies in just one year. This title has breakout potential in the U.S. as well. 16 and up.
$10.99 US
Jun 19, 2012
Paperback
208 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Wotakoi: Love Is Hard for Otaku 1
978-1-63236-704-4
A geeky girl whose life revolves around yaoi manga and a quiet gamer boy are old friends, but when they start working in the same office, they decide to date. It's a relationship of convenience at first, but could it become something more? This manga comedy is now a hit streaming anime!Extra-long book includes 2 Japanese volumes!
$17.99 US
Apr 17, 2018
Paperback
256 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Vinland Saga 1
978-1-61262-420-4
Anime from creators of Attack on Titan is coming July 2019 as an Amazon Prime Original Series and is set to run for two seasons, through December 2019.The epic action manga for fans of Game of Thrones, Berserk, or Lone Wolf and Cub. A story of war, royal intrigue, suspense and revenge set against the Viking invasions of England.Hardcover two-in-one format packed with extras. 16 and up.
$19.99 US
Oct 14, 2013
Hardcover
470 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Rent-A-Girlfriend 1
978-1-63236-997-0
Catch up on the manga before Season 2 of the hit anime, coming soon! You can rent a girlfriend, but can you buy love? Reeling from a bad breakup, Kazuya rents the beautiful, polite Chizuru for a date. But rock bottom might be so much lower than he thought! Chizuru is much more than the pretty face and sweet demeanor he thought he'd bargained for...
$12.99 US
Jun 02, 2020
Paperback
208 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Fire Force 1
978-1-63236-330-5
Introduced during launch/sales conference as "Pyrofighters."A new action fantasy set in a modern, steampunk Tokyo from the creator of the smash hit Soul Eater!An ensemble cast of firefighters (and one nun) and an action-packed story gives Pyrofighters the broad shonen appeal of a Bleach or Fairy Tail.Ages 13+
$10.99 US
Nov 08, 2016
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Don't Toy With Me, Miss Nagatoro 1
978-1-947194-86-1
Nagatoro is a freshman in high school who loves teasing and torturing her older male classmate (Senpai). What is her motivation and why does Senpai put up with her? Does Nagatoro just want to create misery for Senpai? Or maybe she secretly likes him?
$12.95 US
Nov 19, 2019
Paperback
160 Pages
Vertical Comics

Parasyte 1
978-1-61262-073-2
SILENT INVASIONThey arrive in silence and darkness. They descend from the skies. They have a hunger for human flesh. They are everywhere. They are parasites, alien creatures who must invade—and take control of—a human host to survive. And once they have infected their victims, they can assume any deadly form they choose: monsters with giant teeth, winged demons, creatures with blades for hands. But most have chosen to conceal their lethal purpose behind ordinary human faces. So no one knows their secret—except an ordinary high school student. Shin is battling for control of his own body against an alien parasite, but can he find a way to warn humanity of the horrors to come?
$10.99 US
Jul 26, 2011
Paperback
288 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Blue Period 1
978-1-64651-112-9
Now a hit Netflix Original Anime! A manga about the struggles and rewards of a life dedicated to art. Popular guy Yatora realizes he's just going through the motions to make other people happy and finds himself in a new passion: painting. But untethering yourself from all your past expectations is dangerous as well as thrilling... 2020 Manga Taisho Grand Prize WinnerYALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens selectionTexas Library Association Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List unanimous selection
$12.99 US
Oct 13, 2020
Paperback
224 Pages
Kodansha Comics

The Seven Deadly Sins 1
978-1-61262-921-6
A fantasy adventure for teens that bears all the hallmarks of the next Dragon Ball Z!This is a chance to get in on the ground floor of the next shonen hit. Off to a strong start in Japan, this ongoing series will enjoy support from Japanese readers and licensors for years to come!Features strong female and male protagonists: Though Meliodas is helping her, Princess Elizabeth is no damsel in distress - she's determined to take back her kingdom by any means necessary!Puts a playful new twist on familiar medieval tropes like knights, giants, and princesses - here the hero wields a broken sword, and his sidekick is a talking pig!Ongoing series, 13 and up.
$10.99 US
Mar 25, 2014
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

SHAMAN KING Omnibus 1 (Vol. 1-3)
978-1-64651-200-3
The action manga bestseller returns, in 600-page editions featuring a remastered translation and new cover art by creator Hiroyuki Takei! Dive into the classic Shonen Jump adventure whose world of mystical spirits and bewitching battles inspired the classic anime.This volume corresponds to Vol. 1-3 of the original release, featuring updated translation and lettering, back in print more than 20 years after its initial release!
$19.99 US
Mar 23, 2021
Paperback
592 Pages
Kodansha Comics

A Silent Voice 1
978-1-63236-056-4
A Silent Voice is a thought-provoking, dramatic story of a deaf student and the boy who bullies her. 16 and up. Four volumes and ongoing in Japan. Shojo.
$10.99 US
May 26, 2015
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

FAIRY TAIL 1
978-1-61262-276-7
Fairy Tail is by fan-favorite Hiro Mashima, and it consistently tops the manga bestsellers list. For ages 13 and up.
$10.99 US
Aug 28, 2012
Paperback
208 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Hitorijime My Hero 1
978-1-63236-771-6
A yaoi romance between a good boy who didn't know he was waiting for a hero, and a bad boy who comes to his rescue! Now a hit streaming anime!
$12.99 US
Jan 22, 2019
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Noragami: Stray God 1
978-1-61262-906-3
A supernatural action-comedy series with themes similar to Bleach, Soul Eater, and Death Note.Anime currently streaming on FUNimation.com and fans are raving about it, calling the first episode "one hell of a series opener!"Fun female and male characters give this series strong crossover appeal.Ages 16 and up. Ongoing series.
$10.99 US
Sep 02, 2014
Paperback
200 Pages
Kodansha Comics

The Summer of You (My Summer of You Vol. 1)
978-1-64651-204-1
A wistful summer blossoms between two high-school boys finding themselves and each other through a shared love of movies in this moving, dramatic, two-volume BL romance series, perfect for fans of Seven Days, Given, or I Hear the Sunspot.
$14.99 US
Jun 01, 2021
Paperback
256 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Blood on the Tracks 1
978-1-949980-13-4
From the creator who brought you notable works such as The Flowers of Evil, Happiness, and Inside Mari, comes a new suspense drama centering on the theme of a toxic parent. Dive into this latest thriller by master storyteller, Shuzo Oshimi.
$12.95 US
Feb 25, 2020
Paperback
216 Pages
Vertical Comics

The Quintessential Quintuplets 1
978-1-63236-774-7
A high school romantic comedy with five times the cute girls! A high school boy must work part-time to help five sisters study so they can graduate, but the only thing these quintuplets have in common is that they all hate studying!
$10.99 US
Dec 31, 2018
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Boys Run the Riot 1
978-1-64651-248-5
A transgender teen named Ryo finds an escape from the expectations and anxieties of his daily life in the world of street fashion. This personal, heartfelt, fictional story from a transgender manga creator made waves in Japan and will inspire readers all over the world! Best Books for Teens 2021 selection, New York Public LibraryWinner, 77th Tetsuya Chiba PrizeNominee, Harvey Awards
$12.99 US
May 25, 2021
Paperback
240 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Nichijou 1
978-1-942993-30-8
A witty surreal all-ages manga which revolves around the day-to-day lives of the young inhabitants of Tokisadame- city. Funny and heartwarming, Nichijou is a humorous look at modern day Japanese life in comic form.
$10.95 US
Mar 29, 2016
Paperback
200 Pages
Vertical Comics

To Your Eternity 1
978-1-63236-571-2
A new manga from the creator of the acclaimed A Silent Voice, featuring intimate, emotional drama and an epic story spanning time and space...
$12.99 US
Oct 31, 2017
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Sailor Moon Eternal Edition 1
978-1-63236-152-3
The guardians in sailor suits return in this definitive edition of the everlasting masterpiece! Features all-new cover illustrations by creator Naoko Takeuchi, a glittering holographic coating, an extra-large size, premium paper, French flaps, and a newly-revised translation! Ages 13 and up.
$27.99 US
Sep 11, 2018
Paperback
304 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Akira Volume 1
978-1-935429-00-5
Regarded by many as the finest work of graphic fiction ever produced, Akira is a bold and breathtaking epic of potent narrative strength and astonishing illustrative skill.
$24.99 US
Oct 13, 2009
Paperback
352 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Witch Hat Atelier 1
978-1-63236-770-9
Read the manga that AV Club calls "Harry Potter meets Kiki's Delivery Service!"A beautifully-illustrated story about a girl who longs for magic in her life and learns that, on the inside, she already is what she wishes she could be. Reminiscent of Studio Ghibli, this lushly-drawn story has captured the hearts of fantasy fans worldwide.
$12.99 US
Apr 09, 2019
Paperback
208 Pages
Kodansha Comics

Cells at Work! 1
978-1-63236-356-5
An adventure set inside a human body, Cells at Work! is a fun, fast-paced manga that's even a little bit educational (kind of).Unique setting and appealing characters will draw readers of upbeat shonen manga like One Piece and Fairy Tail.A good (very general) introduction to human biology for reluctant readers.Ages 13+
$12.99 US
Nov 01, 2016
Paperback
192 Pages
Kodansha Comics

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime 1
978-1-63236-506-4
Anime adaptation coming October 2018!As players of Monster Hunter and Dungeons & Dragons know, the slime is not exactly the king of the fantasy monsters. So when a 37-year-old Tokyo salaryman dies and wakes up in a world of elves and magic, he's a little disappointed to find he's become a blind, boneless slime monster.
$12.99 US
Aug 22, 2017
Paperback
240 Pages
Kodansha Comics